PS (to “Finally, a True Blurb”)

July 4, 2013 at 9:39 pm | Posted in Photo Groups | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

The only thing Adam 1964 forgot to mention was that I had also appeared in Adam thirteen months earlier (Dec 1962). These were some of my favorite photos, taken by Phil Jacobson. I wonder why Adam 1964 (Jan 1964) failed to mention that I was in the earlier feature?

Gloria Dawn by Phil Jacobson.  (Published in Adam 1962, under the "Gloria Dawn" name.)

Gloria Dawn by Phil Jacobson. (Published in Adam 1962, with the “Gloria Dawn” name.)

Gloria Dawn by Phil Jacobson.  (Published in Adam 1962 with the "Gloria Dawn" name.)

Gloria Dawn by Phil Jacobson. (Published in Adam 1962 with the “Gloria Dawn” name.)

Gloria Dawn by Phil Jacobson.  (Published in Adam 1962 with the "Gloria Dawn" name.)

Gloria Dawn by Phil Jacobson. (Published in Adam 1962 with the “Gloria Dawn” name.)

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Maybe the hair color change given what I’ve suspected was the somewhat superficial mentality of the “editors” of mens’ magazines? I first discovered models’ bios back in the ’70s in Playboy. They were all the same: “I want to be an actress and I love animals.” Why ask: just repeat the same thing every month or create stories out of thin air as with the other mens’ magazines. I’m surprised the writer paid any attention to the real you at all! (And damned glad!)

    Dave

    • I was being a bit facetious here, Dave. I don’t think that anyone would have recognized these two photo sets as the same model. Not only was my hair color different, but also the two photographers had distinctly different styles. Both were good, but they each saw me completely differently. But yes, you are correct about most of the bios in those magazines. In one I a living in New York, then I’m a San Fransisco native, then a Chicago native — but never, except in the Bernard feature, a Canadian living in Hollywood — the truth. Escapade managed to identify me as a Canadian; most insinuated that I was USA born. When the Escapade centerfold feature was published, I also appeared as a centerfold in Nugget that said I was a London, England “lass” and that the photos has been taken near London (when they were actually taken in the Angeles National Forest). And you should read what the stories they made up to accompany all those Elmer Batters photos that were taken on the same day. Not only did each bio differ, but my name was different in each publication. In one Madcap, I had three different names and three different bios, because I appeared in three separate features — in the same issue.

      • I like the Madcap story. Funny, very funny!
        David


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

