A Unique Find

August 26, 2013 at 7:48 pm | Posted in Photo Groups | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

George (known as “Teogan” to former My Archives members) recently discovered this picture on eBay, informed me and I won the auction. It is unique because, to the best of my knowledge, it is the only published colour photo of my dark blond hair. Elmer Batters took it — read “Nude in Black and Blonde” if you don’t remember the episode. The fact that my hair ends are nicely flipped tells me that he took it early in our session; my ultra-fine hair drooped quickly. All the other photos I’ve seen from that session are in black and white. Five other photos appear in the Champagne magazine feature (entitled “Nude in Black Gloves”), but this full-page picture is the only one in colour. Maybe after taking this photo, Batters decided that colour film wasn’t suitable for the lighting setup. (He liked to work with natural light, even when indoors.)

Gloria Dawn colour photo taken by Elmer Batters and published in Champagne.

Gloria Dawn colour photo taken by Elmer Batters and published in Champagne, 1965.

The photo does not appear to have been touched up in any way.  Even my appendix scar, which is often air brushed out in nude photos, is visible.  I did find my lips disconcerting; they appear garish and odd shaped.  It’s not the bright red colour; photographers often asked me to wear bright red lipstick, even when I had light blond hair.  It’s the shape.  After zooming in on them using Photoshop, I realized that the makeup artist had drawn them larger than normal, and my normal lips are full enough, thank you very much.  It’s as if she was not used to working with full-lipped models (and actresses) and drew her pencil lines beyond the natural ridges, making them appear bizarre.  Below, on the left, is a close up of my lips are they appear in the photo; on the right is my attempt to draw my lips their proper shape using Photoshop.  (My Photoshop skills are not perfect, so this is only an approximate rendering of how my lips should have appeared.)

My true lip shape (approximate).

My true lip shape (approximate).

A close-up of my lips as they appeared in the photo above.

A close-up of my lips as they appeared in the photo above.

In black and white photos, the garish red disappears amongst the ridges of my natural lip line as seen below. But in that colour movie, which was never completed, I must have looked tawdry. Probably one reason the movie was never completed.

My true lips shine through the garish red when photographed in black and white.  Photo taken during same session as the one above.

My true lips shine through the garish red when photographed in black and white. Photo taken during same session as the one above.

The black and white photos in the Champagne feature are full-length and more flattering than the colour photo. As per the “Donna Cole” set (see: http://gloriadawn.wordpress.com/2013/06/13/donna-cole-picture/), I am wearing black nylons, black gloves and a teeny black bikini bottom. In the Champagne pictures, taken before filming began, I look more refreshed. Also, Batters took pains to make my breasts more attractive. He didn’t always focus 100% on legs, you know. Eventually, I’ll post the complete set on gloriadawn.wordpress.com. But don’t look for them to appear soon. I have lots of other things to do first.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

